Storm of War Campaign

Discuss IL2: Sturmovik. Both 1946 and Cliffs of Dover

Moderator: SYN Exec

Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Jedders » Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:35 am

We are registered as a Sqn for the Storm of War Campaign.

Details: http://www.stormofwar.org/?Page=home

Faq: http://www.stormofwar.org/phpBB3/faq.php

Patch info: http://www.stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewto ... f=17&t=590

Please enrol on the Sqn page for SYNDICATE.

TEAMSPEAK ROOM HAS USUAL PASSWORD
Image
User avatar
SYN_Jedders
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2479
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:13 am

Re: Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Bandy » Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:00 pm

Jed's link is for an all-in-one patch download (which contains 5 patch exe's, one BIG zip file).

Here are links to individual patch downloads, in case you already have CloD patched to some degree: http://teamfusion.theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/

This thread has good instructs for installing the patches: http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5058&p=52711
Apparently the most important bit is start up the game as admin between EACH patch. This is normal procedure for major game mods.

Also, quite a few good performance tips follow in the rather long thread and posts, such as deleting your CloD cache file (can you remember where it is?) and deleting dxg9.dll from the game folder, etc. etc. etc.

If you are not familiar, or do not want to go through the drudgery of mod patching, this is likely not for you. Judging from the recent videos I've seen the SoW game play may be worth it, though will not be looking forward to learning all the switches/key commands etc. in yet another flight sim... :roll:
Lest we forget...
User avatar
SYN_Bandy
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 3301
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:01 am
Location: Wishing I was in the La Cloche...

Re: Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Jedders » Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:43 am

7.30pm for 8pm take off tonight (UK time)

Familiarisation flight. Approx 2 hours

(Cleaned up this thread for Campaign stuff only)
Image
User avatar
SYN_Jedders
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2479
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:13 am

Re: Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Skydance » Thu Apr 16, 2015 6:58 pm

Tangmere Airfield and coast
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
i7 7700k @4.2Ghz, GTX 1080Ti,16G RAM, TrackIR, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS joystick, MFG Crosswind rudder pedals, Saitec throttle quadrants/trim wheel, a custom panel, HTC Vive and an Oculus Rift.
User avatar
SYN_Skydance
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:35 pm
Location: Staffordshire

Re: Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Vander » Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:05 am

I have installed CloD again + mod and must say I'm pleasantly surprised with the improvements! Nice graphics and performance. Tip: Start with the Hurricane, it has a nice "stable" flight model and I find it easier to fly than the planes in BoS. I need some more air time though to give my final verdict! :wink:
Image
User avatar
SYN_Vander
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 2740
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:59 pm

Re: Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Saintblu » Sun Apr 19, 2015 3:15 pm

Got it all patched up. Suprised to see all my inputs were saved.
Very impressed with the ease of level bombing in regards to mode 22.

Anyone figure out how to use turrets with the mouse?
Image
User avatar
SYN_Saintblu
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:38 pm

Re: Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Bandy » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:12 pm

How do the aircraft gunner seats work? We all know how it happens with RoF-based system, but never figured this title out yet...
Lest we forget...
User avatar
SYN_Bandy
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 3301
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:01 am
Location: Wishing I was in the La Cloche...

Re: Storm of War Campaign

Postby SYN_Saintblu » Sun Apr 19, 2015 5:40 pm

To use your gunners you need to map 3 keys.
1) switch to next manned position.
2) lean into turret.
3) operate turret (or something like that)

You can find these bindings under view and turret.

I have only been able to control the turrets with my joystick. I think I remember I got it to work with the mouse last year after a lot of researching but I've since forgotten or I am remembering incorrectly.

Edit: Sorry If this post should be somewhere else... I just realized this is not really info specific to the SoW campaign.

EDIT: This is an old post I found... seems f10 lets the mouse control the gun. Still need to map the mount to other buttons.

Operating a gunner position takes only a few simple steps. If you’re not
taking over from an AI-controlled gunner that already used the weapon, you
will first need to move the turret from Cruise to Firing position with the
corresponding key command.
Then use the Loosen Shoulder Straps command to lean to your weapon
and keep your head aligned with the barrel. Otherwise your view will be
independent of the gun, and you can look around to the sides while moving
the gun on its own.
Use the Snap / Pan keys to look away from the barrel and look around. When
leaning to the gun your head movements will be limited, otherwise you will be
able to turn your head much more freely. Use this to look around; turning your
view together with the gun is a much less effective way to check for threats.
Most gunner turrets contain two main moveable parts. First is the turret or
the gun mount that can be rotated or moved about. On top of the turret or the
gun mount is the weapon itself that has its own range of movement.
That is why you have two sets of controls, one for moving the mount, and
the other one for the gun. The gun can be moved with the mouse; if you
switch into Legacy view mode it will not require you to press or hold any
additional keys. Alternatively, you can move the gun with the Move Gun
key commands assignable in the Turret sections of the Controls options, or
assign them to an axis.
The mount is controlled via the Move Mount key commands from the Turret
section of the Controls options. As most historical gun mounts had to be
unlocked before moving and then locked into a new position, there will be a
slight delay before a Move Mount command takes effect.
Most gun position in Cliffs of Dover use ammunition magazines. Many of
those, most notably on German planes, contain visible ammunition counters.
When the ammunition in a canister runs out, the gunner will automatically
reload his gun. You can reload your weapon manually with the Reload
command assignable in the Generic section of the Controls options screen.
IL2CoD_PC_MANUAL_UK.indd 78 31/01/11 12:04
- 79 -
Pilot’s Notes Special Edition
Reloading takes several seconds, during which you cannot operate your gun.
This applies even with the Limited Ammo option disabled; the option gives
you an unlimited supply of magazines, not unlimited rounds in one magazine.
NOTE: AI controlled gunners in Cliffs of Dover will not engage ground targets.
While it may seem appealing, historical instances of bomber gunners firing at
enemy vehicles were rare, and we feel that it’s much more important to conserve
ammunition for the eventual encounter with enemy fighters. There is of course
nothing preventing you from manually switching to a gunner and engaging any
target of your choosing.
Image
User avatar
SYN_Saintblu
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 8:38 pm


Return to IL2: Sturmovik: CloD and 1946

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron