Page 1 of 1

How much is not enough now-a-days?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:48 am
by SYN_Bandy
Some is good
More is better
And too much is just right?


I know, a page out of many computer gamer's hardware playbooks...

I have (by cutting-edge standards) an aging system with:
i7 2700K O'C to about 4.4 GHz
GTX 980Ti w/ 6 GB vRAM
several SSD's...
8 GB [2 GB X4] DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX

At the time (can't believe it, 5 years ago now) the 8 GB of RAM seemed plenty, no app was using anything close to this, and in truth I don't think individual modules came larger than 2 GB sticks anyways.

I believe this system is still plenty fast and no need to upgrade for current game playlist, maybe eventually for Star Citizen if it ever is completed, and/or VR when it matures. Besides, I just upgraded my monitor to a 27" G-Sync and loving it.

But there is this nagging doubt about the amount of RAM. Then again, I have 6 GB of vRAM so perhaps that offsets somewhat?

Constructive opinions welcome, so no need to post disparaging remarks. Some of us are on budgets... :lol:

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:04 pm
by SYN_Repent
I would say you were fine for now, especially for the games you play, theres not point in having a gtx 1080ti for world of tanks....its all relevant.

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:35 pm
by SYN_Bandy
I don't play 'tanks', well, really not much anymore :???: only with my son when he asks, honestly...

Do you play something with big RAM requirements?

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:57 am
by SYN_Repent
only VR bandy, i upgraded from 8gb to 16gb and saw a difference immediatly

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:41 pm
by SYN_DerHesse70
I updated from 8GB to 16GB RAM. It's a big difference in DCS. I wasn't able to play in a wing with the new edge engine!! The rest of my games is no problem. In ARMA you need a minimum of 3GB graphic RAM with a 22" monitor!!