DCS:1944 News

A place to discuss DCS World P51 and the New DCS:1944

Moderator: SYN Exec

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_Vander » Tue May 23, 2017 7:59 pm

Haash, the Normandy map will be added to the existing DCS World 2 (Nevada), so you'll have 2 installs at maximum.

VEAO has a bad rep as developer, so I don't think it's a bad decision :) . The P-47 will be the next (WW2) plane to wait for I guess.
Image
User avatar
SYN_Vander
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:59 pm

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_Vander » Wed May 24, 2017 8:48 am

Two more days!
Image
User avatar
SYN_Vander
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:59 pm

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_MrWolf » Thu May 25, 2017 1:47 pm

Very nice :) I am hyped.

Did you see the new PBR shaders? Looks mighty fine.



and here.
ALWAYS BE YOURSELF! UNLESS YOU CAN BE BATMAN. THEN ALWAYS BE BATMAN.
Image
User avatar
SYN_MrWolf
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:30 pm

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_DerHesse70 » Mon May 29, 2017 9:10 am

After the first weekend of flying on the normandy map i recognized that i need more RAM in the future. 8GB isn't enough! So today i will buy me some G.Skill 16GB kit. :lol:

https://www.alternate.de/G-Skill/DIMM-1 ... uct/984622?

The biggest RAM usage is with the spitfire module and in a wing. I have always 98% and the fps are going down to under 20fps.

With other modules i'm between 25fps (on the deck) and 50fps (large altitude) with 75% RAM usage. I'm running medium to high settings.
Processor and gpu usage is ok.

The map is awesome. I really like it. Only the kneeboard map is still not working (known bug).

So for the future i'm ready with my new thrustmaster throttle and all WWII modules and the map! :wink:
"Es ist noch kein Meister vom Himmel gefallen!"
User avatar
SYN_DerHesse70
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Ebsdorfergrund, Germany

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_MrWolf » Mon May 29, 2017 11:47 am

mm...hold your horses. Extra ram is always nice. Tho the lack of performance is due to lack of optimizing of the developers side. They just didn't have the time yet to address lots of stuff. I guess they are using the old proper meaning of the term "alpha". :)
ALWAYS BE YOURSELF! UNLESS YOU CAN BE BATMAN. THEN ALWAYS BE BATMAN.
Image
User avatar
SYN_MrWolf
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:30 pm

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_Blackrat » Mon May 29, 2017 12:44 pm

Also surely Dual modules is quicker than Quad?
"They say that just before you die, your whole life flashes in front of you. Make sure it is worth watching."
User avatar
SYN_Blackrat
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2577
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: Southern England

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_DerHesse70 » Mon May 29, 2017 1:50 pm

@Blackrat:

I have an old system (P55 board with i5-750) so i'm not able to put 16GB into two slots. I have to use 4x 4GB.

@Wolf:

8GB is definitively under the minimum requirements! I had problems in MP before and now obvious more.

Apart from that, i need faster RAM. I'm planning on giving my old CPU a last kick with some overclocking. It still runs with 4GHz and 200MHz base clock all day long. I had great luck with this CPU because it runs trouble free with only 55°C - 60°C (Prolimatech Megahelms cooler with two 120mm fans :wink: ) in game with these settings. My board is able to handle up to 300MHz base clock. So i will try to increase the base clock to 220MHz because my multiplier is fixed (i5-750). That gives me 4.4GHz and i will need a RAM with minimum 1760MHz speed (220 x 8).

Also star citizens will not running with 8GB RAM. :mrgreen:
"Es ist noch kein Meister vom Himmel gefallen!"
User avatar
SYN_DerHesse70
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Ebsdorfergrund, Germany

Re: DCS:1944 News

Postby SYN_DerHesse70 » Mon May 29, 2017 5:09 pm

New RAM is in the system. Fps increased around 10 to 15. Now maximum 75% usage of the RAM (12GB).

Tweaked some settings. Now i got 35 to 50fps total with the spitfire free flight mission in a wing! :mrgreen:
"Es ist noch kein Meister vom Himmel gefallen!"
User avatar
SYN_DerHesse70
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Ebsdorfergrund, Germany

Previous

Return to DCS World: P51 and DCS:1944

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest