Hardware blues?

A place to talk about anything to do with Rise of Flight

Moderator: SYN Exec

Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Per » Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:32 pm

Dunno what it is guys, but lately RoF is running very crappy for me. It´s stutter galore and rubberbanding and whatnot. I have tried alot of different setting and I´ve just kinda lost track. I feel like I´m in the corner and just feel sad when sitting down to fly some.

Anyone of you lads feel like sharing some setting that work for you?

I´m running a i7 950 slightly oc (around 3,4GHz) and a 6970. I think I should be able to run the game much more decent than now with not too low settings.

Any tweaks and settings to put me back on track would be much appreciated!
User avatar
SYN_Per
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 1611
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:09 pm
Location: Sweden, Stockholm but preferably at the cottage. In the pavillion...

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Jedders » Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:44 pm

Well....I am certaintly happy to run thro the graphics settings etc.

Your CPU can easily oc to 4.0 ghz tho. That might help a bit.

Rubber banding etc must be a connection issue tho...checked your network settings since update?...

Try a disc defrag and the game reset thingy.
Image
User avatar
SYN_Jedders
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:13 am

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Per » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:15 pm

We´ll do that mate please. I defrag regularly ad I´ve run the reset thingy. I have also checked my net speed and changed the settings in game according to the results of the speedtest .
I´ve got a new CPU fan coming soon, so I will do some more oc when that´s in the case. I´m on the stock cooler right now and I don´t want to take it higher.
User avatar
SYN_Per
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 1611
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:09 pm
Location: Sweden, Stockholm but preferably at the cottage. In the pavillion...

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Mars » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:42 pm

Reset your catalyst settings to default - when I was running an ATI card I very quickly found out that CCC is a PITA.
Only use AA through the ROF config program or use SMAA using sweetfx for ROF.

Use radeon pro (semi official AMD supported nvidia inspector for ATI clone - use the beta preview version) - allows triple buffering which will help with ROF.

http://riseofflight.com/Forum/viewtopic ... 50&t=32858
User avatar
SYN_Mars
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:28 pm

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Vander » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:58 pm

http://en.wiki.riseofflight.com/index.p ... k_Settings

I think it's better to be on the safe side and set your speed in RoF network settings much lower than the max speed you can handle. As a client, there is no need to go higher than say 1 Mb down and 512K up. I have a feeling that if you set the network speed higher it will load more positions of aircraft that are out of viewing range. Since our server has no external views that is useless anyway.

I will try this as well. I also noticed rubber-banding Sunday, but that might have been an incident as I lost all internet shortly there after.
Image
User avatar
SYN_Vander
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:59 pm

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Per » Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:17 am

Thx for the tips guys!
User avatar
SYN_Per
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 1611
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:09 pm
Location: Sweden, Stockholm but preferably at the cottage. In the pavillion...

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Bandy » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:20 pm

Yes Per, I think we were flying a few days ago and I did notice you (and only you) were unfortunately rubber banding. I'm hopeful this is an easy setting fix for you, and likely does not involve your hardware, unless something crapping out in your router or modem.

Didn't you say you use a satellite dish? Could it be weather related then? Just curious...
Lest we forget...
User avatar
SYN_Bandy
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 3180
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:01 am
Location: Wishing I was in the La Cloche...

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Per » Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:11 pm

Back on my broadband at home now Bandy.
Only used the WiFi stick when working away from home.
I am going to give my ISP a call though.
User avatar
SYN_Per
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 1611
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:09 pm
Location: Sweden, Stockholm but preferably at the cottage. In the pavillion...

Re: Hardware blues?

Postby SYN_Vorlander » Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:43 am

Salute SYN Per,

i had some serious connections problems for a few months. Phoned my ISP and explained the problem to them. ISP changed my connection to a "static" connection type.

no more bad connections with ROF master server at all.

Hope it can help.

V
User avatar
SYN_Vorlander
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:51 pm
Location: Africa


Return to Lobby

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron