How much is not enough now-a-days?

Computers, joysticks, rudder pedals, DIY you can discuss it all here.

Moderator: SYN Exec

How much is not enough now-a-days?

Postby SYN_Bandy » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:48 am

Some is good
More is better
And too much is just right?


I know, a page out of many computer gamer's hardware playbooks...

I have (by cutting-edge standards) an aging system with:
i7 2700K O'C to about 4.4 GHz
GTX 980Ti w/ 6 GB vRAM
several SSD's...
8 GB [2 GB X4] DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX

At the time (can't believe it, 5 years ago now) the 8 GB of RAM seemed plenty, no app was using anything close to this, and in truth I don't think individual modules came larger than 2 GB sticks anyways.

I believe this system is still plenty fast and no need to upgrade for current game playlist, maybe eventually for Star Citizen if it ever is completed, and/or VR when it matures. Besides, I just upgraded my monitor to a 27" G-Sync and loving it.

But there is this nagging doubt about the amount of RAM. Then again, I have 6 GB of vRAM so perhaps that offsets somewhat?

Constructive opinions welcome, so no need to post disparaging remarks. Some of us are on budgets... :lol:
Lest we forget...
User avatar
SYN_Bandy
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 3291
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:01 am
Location: Wishing I was in the La Cloche...

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

Postby SYN_Repent » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:04 pm

I would say you were fine for now, especially for the games you play, theres not point in having a gtx 1080ti for world of tanks....its all relevant.
User avatar
SYN_Repent
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

Postby SYN_Bandy » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:35 pm

I don't play 'tanks', well, really not much anymore :???: only with my son when he asks, honestly...

Do you play something with big RAM requirements?
Lest we forget...
User avatar
SYN_Bandy
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 3291
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:01 am
Location: Wishing I was in the La Cloche...

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

Postby SYN_Repent » Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:57 am

only VR bandy, i upgraded from 8gb to 16gb and saw a difference immediatly
User avatar
SYN_Repent
Syndicate Exec
 
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: How much is not enough now-a-days?

Postby SYN_DerHesse70 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:41 pm

I updated from 8GB to 16GB RAM. It's a big difference in DCS. I wasn't able to play in a wing with the new edge engine!! The rest of my games is no problem. In ARMA you need a minimum of 3GB graphic RAM with a 22" monitor!!
"Es ist noch kein Meister vom Himmel gefallen!"
User avatar
SYN_DerHesse70
Syndicate Squadron pilot
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Ebsdorfergrund, Germany


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron